The following students were the inaugural winners of the Bassett Award for Community Engagement.

2017 Bassett Award Winners with Director Stephen Pitti and President Peter Salovey

Erik Barraza Cordova, Phoenix, AZ

Hadassah Betapudi, Collierville, TN

Estee Dechtman, Denver, CO

James Dennis, New Iberia, LA

Hawraa Faisal, Glendale Heights, IL

Abbi Fitzpatrick, Cut Bank, MT

Rhea Grant, Milford, CT

Chase Kinzly, New Haven, CT

Luis Leon, Houston, TX

Domonique Malcolm, Carthage, NY

Alejandro Ortega, Miami, FL

Jonah Perrin, Chapel Hill, NC

Iesha-LaShay Phillips, Jenks, OK

Dennis Portillo, Los Angeles, CA

Sana Shareef, Port St Lucie, FL

Cassidy Tshimbalanga, Alamo, CA

Dominic Velasquez, Canfield, OH

Octavia Washington, Brooklyn, NY

Tyler White, Portland, OR

Peter Za, Portland, OR

Learn more about them by reading the award announcement from April 2017 and the description of the award ceremony that took place in October 2017.